Hersi Matmuja talks to ESC Views!

So on our Facebook page, we said that this would be our 100th post and to celebrate, we’d be having a special surprise for the readers and here it is! Here at ESC Views, we managed to get an interview with Herciana (Hersi) Matmuja, who will represent Albania in Copenhagen! So what did she have to say to ESC Views? Well keep reading to find out!

So what did Hersi say to ESC Views?
What did Hersi Matmuja tell ESC Views?

So as dedicated Eurovision fans, you should know that Herciana is representing Albania in Denmark with her song “Zemërimi I Një Nate”. However, she was met with negative reactions from the fans, as seen in our NF review of Festival i Këngës. But she’s representing Albania, so you can’t get rid of her! Here’s her track being performed at FiK:

In the following questions, it will be marked with an R or a J so you know which questions were whose and a H designates Herciana’s answer. Hope you like the interview!

R: So Hersi, now that you’ve had time to settle down from winning Festival i Këngës, how do you feel that you will represent Albania at Eurovision?
H: I am now aware of my big responsibility: to represent the Albanian music on the stage of ESC the best I can! I was confused the first days after winning, but I think right now I’ve settled myself and my thoughts are all focused on the next performance, which means, we’ll have to rearrange the song, and I have to think of my vocal performance in a new way. It’s time for me to think more rationally, I’m done with emotions, but just for now.

R: Is it true you’ve decided to sing in English instead of Albanian?
H: I’ve only considered it as an idea, actually that’s what I wanted in the beginning, because I wanted much more people to understand the lyrics, but now, I don’t know, because I’ve read many people want it to be in Albanian.

R: Have you thought about how you will stage the song in Copenhagen?
H: We haven’t discussed that seriously, since there are a lot of things to think before that, like how will the song be arranged, than the video-clip…All I can say is that I want it to be a simple performance, because I want ESC watchers to listen to the song, not only to be focused on the visual performance.

J: You’ve taken part in both Festivali i Këngës and Kenga Magjike – which festival did you enjoy participating in most and why?
H: Both; because they’re different. The FiK stage comes with the responsibility of singing with a live orchestra, for a wider range of viewers, and you always have to think for the European public, too. Kenga Magjike it was fun and entertaining; I had to perform with a choreography and I really enjoyed it.

R: Who do you look up to musically? Do you have any idols?
H: I look up to a lot of singers and music genres: I listen to Celine Dion, Whitney Houston, but I also enjoy listening to Etta James, Ella Fitzgerald, Rihanna, Bjork or Abba, because I think that listening to a wider range of music, is the only way to create my own personality as a singer.

J: Which is your favourite Eurovision song from Albania apart from your own?
H: I liked all of them, really, because all the singers were names on the Albanian music, or, young talents, who have already made a career here; Eurovision has actually helped them to grow up professionally. But if I’ll have to pick up one, I’ll have to go for Rona Nishliu with “Suus”, it was one of the performances I’ve enjoyed the most, because of its spirit and her personality on the stage; it was a big emotion for all of us to watch her representation take us to the 5th place!

J: We’ve only heard your song performed with an orchestra so far – do you prefer singing with live music, and do you think it would be good to have an orchestra back at ESC?
H: I personally like the song in both versions: the studio version, with the masterization of the composer/arranger Genti Lako, which is more phonetically clear, and I can’t not love the orchestra version, where every instrument it’s live, and it kind of gathers the spirit of each musician in one sound. As for Eurovision, I like it as it is.

R :What are you most looking forward to when you’re in Denmark?
H: I can’t wait to go there! I’m thirsty for living some of this unique experience! I’m so looking forward to meet the people, to visit Copenhagen, and I am so exited that I will sing on that big stage! Can’t wait for the first rehearsaaaal!

R, J: Finally, do you have a message for the readers of ESC Views?
H: I’m so impressed of your support, I’ve seen your beautiful comments, read some very beautiful messages you’ve written to me, and I promise I’ll give my best for not letting you down! Have a happy New Year! My biggest affects!

So Hersi Matmuja is getting ready for Copenhagen and I think we’re gonna see something spectacular on stage in Denmark, but what do you think? Do you like Hersi’s song and how well do you think she will do at Eurovision? Feel free to let us know by commenting below!

P.S. Like we said at the top of the article, this is our 100th post! Thank you so much for standing by us all through the off-season. It just shows how great you guys are! So from James and I, we want to thank you guys so much and we can’t wait for Eurovision 2014! You guys are awesome!

2 thoughts on “Hersi Matmuja talks to ESC Views!”

Have your say!

