Mei Finegold speaks to ESC Views!

Okay, it’s fair to say that both James and I are HUGELY stoked about this interview. We were lucky enough to grab an interview with THE Israeli representative this year – Mei Finegold. We’re both massive fans of her Eurovision song “Same Heart” and we were so lucky to get the chance to interview her even with her really busy schedule! So what did Mei have to say to us? Well you better scroll down to find out!

What did Mei have to say to ESC Views!
What did Mei have to say to ESC Views?

Mei was selected to represent Israel back in January (we compiled a ‘Rumour Has It’ article concerning her selection only a few hours before it was officially confirmed – what about that for timing?) and two weeks ago her Eurovision song was chosen by the Israeli public – “Same Heart”. If you want to have a listen to “Same Heart”, have a look below! And just for some clarification, an R or a J designates our questions and an M designates Mei’s answers. Oh god, are you guys ready? We can’t wait!!

R: First of all, since you confirmed you were going to represent Israel, how do you feel about representing your country on such a big stage?

M: It is an amazing honour. It is a dream come true for me.

J: Has your participation in Kokhav Nolad prepared you in any way for taking part in a live TV event like Eurovision? 

M: It has. My participation in Kohav Nolad had taught me how to perform in front of a camera lens and reach the audience. It is so weird to know you perform in front of millions, but you can’t see them. I wish they could all sit in the audience. That could have been amazing, no?

R: You have ranked quite highly in may fans ranking. Does this add any pressure to you, knowing that many fans are supporting you and “Same Heart”?

M: Love overcomes pressure. I feel so much love from ESC fans that it makes me feel lucky, if anything else. It makes me feel good, no matter what place the song will reach at the competition. Free love is not something you get every day from so many people. I feel blessed.

R: If you were to pick a favourite from the three candidate songs, which would you pick?

M: My choice would be “Same Heart”. I absolutely love it.

R: Are you planning to promote your song before you go to Eurovision?

M: At the moment, my days are extremely busy. Besides preparing for the ESC every day, I am a very busy theatre actress and also have a busy pop-rock band called “Limozina Express”, and above all, I raise my two-year old amazing daughter. I would love to promote my song before the competition, and if I will get the chance, I will do everything I can. More than promoting the song, it sounds like great fun and I love to travel. In my life I’ve visited 11 European country’s and even lived in Ireland for a while. But I always remind myself to be happy with all the best things I have in life, even if it means, I will not have the time to go on a promotion tour, it is only because of good and fortunate reasons.

J:  You showed us a range of fabulous outfits in the videos for each of your selection songs.. have you thought about what you’re going to wear in Copenhagen?

M: I think about it all the time. I think it’s extremely important. That is why I didn’t choose an outfit yet. It was important for me to have the performance done first. I move a lot when I perform and also take a part in the choreography. I had to know what I was doing on stage first, before I decide what to wear, in order for my outfit to be comfortable as well as beautiful.

J: Have you thought about how you’d like to present the song on stage yet?

M: At the moment, I rehearse with two amazing female dancers. It was important for me to save the spirit of the video clip we shot for the song. “Same Heart” has a lot of power in it and I had always been an artist that women-empowering was a main issue in my art. When ESC fans asked me ones, why I don’t use men in my act I responded: “Who run the world?”.. Ha ha. I love queen B.

R: Have you heard much of your competition? If so, have you picked a favourite?

M: I’ve heard some. Not all. But from what I’ve heard. It is going to be a hard competition for me. I love it! I love talented artists and I know it’s a competition, but it’s a damn good one. I wish every one the best of luck.

J: What’s your favourite Israeli Eurovision song apart from your own?

M: I don’t like to pick one, because I love so many. But I truly think that Dana International’s “Diva” was something special.

R: Who do you look up to musically? Do you have any idols?

M: I know it sounds corny, but I’m influenced by so many artists, you wouldn’t even believe. Every few weeks, I get stuck to one artist and find myself listening to them all day and night until I move to the next.

R: What are you most looking forward to when you go to Copenhagen?

M: I can’t wait for the moment when the camera start rolling on Same Heart at the semi final. I think that the adrenalin rush I will experience will be like nothing I had ever experienced in my life. I’m looking forward to that.

R/J: Finally, do you have a message for the readers of ESC Views?

M: Only with ESC fans have I experienced such love for a competition. They don’t want only their favorite to do well, they want everyone to do well. They want the best competition and I love it! You don’t get that in any other competitions. They love Eurovision and love you because you are apart of it. There is nothing like it! Since I experienced it, I am an ESC fan. Thank you so much for the free love, I will do my best to make you all proud. Love to all. See you in Copenhagen.

Well reading that interview, it seems that Israel is definitely preparing for something huge in Copenhagen and I don’t know about you, but I cannot wait to see Mei and “Same Heart” take to the stage, but that’s just my opinion. What do you think? Are you a fan of Mei’s song? How well do you think it will do at Eurovision? Feel free to tell us what you think by commenting below!

And Mei, thank you very much for letting us interview you, you were fabulous!

6 thoughts on “Mei Finegold speaks to ESC Views!”

  1. This is probably one of the worst interviews I have ever read, misspells and bad translation aside – Mei seems to be avoiding most of the more substanced questions. She never actually answers about the song, or what inspires her as an artist (except for maybe the “women empowerment” thing), and the interviewer never seems to pull any real insights to shed some kind of light on who she is and what the hell she wants from us. .

    1. Thanks a lot for your comment Max! 🙂

      Well when I was writing the article up, I wanted to leave everything in Mei’s words, so I didn’t really want to change any spelling mistakes – hope you know where I’m coming from!

      Ah I see, well we tried our best to send the best questions, but when you’re talking to someone who is regarded as a national superstar in her native land, it’s pretty hard to come up with a good deal of questions without going too deep into her stardom, so we were trying our best to shy away from that, hence the lack of “real insights” you’re referring to.

      As for Mei’s answers…well there’s nothing we can do about that. But we were happy with any answers we got from any Eurovision star, so we accepted those answers, regardless of whether she was trying to dodge the questions or not. If she answered them honestly, we’re happy!

      Hope this helps you and hopefully you’ll enjoy the articles we put out later on! 🙂

Have your say!

