Album Review: Ann Sophie – Silver into Gold

There are, doubtless, several people that will express fury at this year’s Eurovision Song Contest results.
‘What the hell?!’ they cry incredulously. ‘This is ridiculous! How did Sweden win? That song was so unoriginal!’. Whether or not Heroes was unoriginal is entirely subjective, I think (and that is all that will be said about the subject here), but if you shimmy right down to the other side of the spectrum, you’ll find comments such as these: ‘What utter bullshit! How the hell did The Makemakes get nul points?!’ and ‘Seriously? The TWO BEST SONGS IN THE WHOLE BLOODY CONTEST THIS YEAR got nul points?! How dare you! I’m never watching this stupid show again! Death to all of you!’
Alright, so that last one is (probably) an exaggeration. But a few things remain certain: Eurovision 2015 was won by Sweden, and two countries – Austria and Germany – received the dreaded nul points.

Yes, you read that right. This year, the host country received no points. It’s the first time such an event has occurred, but that’s not what we’re here to discuss. No, today I’m going to be talking about the other entrant – our dear Ann Sophie – and her new album, Silver into Gold.

So, what can be said about Ann Sophie? Well…other than the fact that she actually came in second place in Unser Song für Österreich (Germany’s national final this year) but was asked to take part in Eurovision anyway, not much. Like most that participate in Eurovision, she isn’t exactly burning up the charts – at least, in England – so if you randomly stumble upon this article, then it’s likely you haven’t heard of her.

But I digress. Anyhow, Ann Sophie (which, by the way, is apparently pronounced like ‘zophie’ – just a little tidbit of info for you) recently released an album! Well, you’d probably guessed that by this point anyway…

So, the album itself has twelve tracks. This is a pretty average number for an album, and all the songs are two to three minutes long, which is also pretty normal (unless you’re in Green Day, and you want to be cool and edgy by creating a nine minute long song ._.).

Most of the songs on Silver into Gold are quite upbeat, although the lyrics – a good deal of them, anyway – detail her frustration with either a current or ex- lover. Fairly standard pop music fare, you understand. That doesn’t mean to say that the album is bad, because it isn’t. Remember how I said that Ann Sophie’s voice was ‘grating’ in our Pre-Contest Vote of Black Smoke? Well, I’m not going back on that, because on that particular song, it does seem to be. However, it’s pretty likely that, because I’m listening to Silver into Gold as I write this, I’ve become used to it. That being said, this doesn’t mean that Ann Sophie is a bad singer – because she isn’t, not by any stretch of the imagination.

There are some slower songs on this album too, but in truth they don’t really stand out – at least, not to me. No, the faster, more up-tempo ones are the ones I really liked.

I can’t really offer an in-depth review of each song on the album, so here’s a little list of the ones I recommend that you listen to:

1. Black Smoke (although let’s face it, you’ve likely heard this song at least once anyway.)

2. I Don’t Know Where I’m Going

3. Get Over Yourself

So, to sum up, here’s what we’ve learned…

1. Ann Sophie’s voice isn’t as grating once you’ve listened to it for twelve continuous songs.

2. She (or, more appropriately, her writers) have been spurned and unfairly treated by lovers in the past.

3. The faster songs are better than the slower ones.

4. Even though Ann Sophie was pretty good, Germany had better get their heads in the game next year, if they want to win.

Overall, I’d say that Silver into Gold gets a nice 7/12. It’s a nice thing to listen to, sure, but it’s not oh-my-god-life-will-never-be-the-same nice. At least, not for me.

It’s all subjective, right?

Your views:

N. Klaszki from Nuremburg: I am soooooo in love with it [Silver into Gold]! I got it on the release date!

H. Lindqvist: I love it!! My favorite song is “Lie to me”.

A. Perez Soto: I did and I loveeee it, it’s really awesome. Love every single song!

C. Paul: I love it, listening to it on Spotify all the time, might consider buying the album!

A. Dagless: Love it!

Well, as you can see, Silver into Gold is pretty popular amongst many fans! But what did you think? As always, have your say in the comment section below!

One thought on “Album Review: Ann Sophie – Silver into Gold”

Have your say!

