ESC’17: Final Three Cities Chosen

After a long fight from six cities across Ukraine, NTU has narrowed the race down to three cities. Kyiv, Dnipro and Odessa were finally chosen to progress to the final phase of the bidding race to host Eurovision 2017. The result was announced after a Cabinet meeting today and the Minister for Culture Yevhen Nyshchuk, along with NTU’s Director-General Victoria Romanova delivered the results, leaving Kherson, Kharkiv, and Lviv out of contention for the rights to host. See the promo videos for the final cities to Contest here, along with the video of the conference announcing the three cities as finalists.

So, what happened? At a meeting at the Ministry of Culture, as with the “Battle of the Cities” debate a few days ago,  each city  was again given the chance to make their case to the media and this time – more importantly – from government officials. Nyshchuk presided over proceedings and also asked some striking questions regarding infrastructure and other such concerns. He was joined at the beginning of the meeting by Victoria Romanova, who went through the decision process of the Organisational Committee. Later, before the speeches went underway, we were joined by Jamala herself who was there to watch the meeting and the eventual results being delivered. The most part of the meeting included the same representatives of each city presenting their bid formally to the Parliament, and that’s not particularly as interesting, as we had seen it all before a couple of days previously (although a bit of a spat broke out between Oleksii Reznikov, Kyiv’s representative – and someone else, and kept interrupting Reznikov, while trying to answer his question – awkward). However, after Dnipro, Kyiv, Lviv, Odessa, Kharkiv and Kherson formally presented their bids, we were left without a result for around an hour, which was quite possibly one of the longest hours in the history of our lives! However, once we returned, we gladly got to hear the results and now we know that Kyiv, Odessa and Dnipro are left in the running to host Eurovision 2017 in Ukraine.

So what happens next?

The three cities left now have to face inspections from both NTU and the EBU. The inspections will look the city’s infrastructure, proposed arenas, fan zones, Eurovillage, Euroclub, safety of the area and general capability of hosting the Contest in that city, the speed of which this will be implemented to guarantee a safe and enjoyable Contest in the city. Once a decision is finalised, a press conference will be called to formally announce which city will earn the right to host Europe’s favourite TV show next year. We expect this period to go onto August 1st, as there is a large checklist of things both organisations must scrutinise to ensure they have chosen the best city.

So what do you think? Did NTU make the right choice in picking Dnipro, Kyiv and Odessa to progress to the last phase? Who would you have picked? Where do you think we’ll be heading off to for Eurovision next year? Be sure to let us know your opinion by commenting below! And by voting in our *updated* poll, now we know the last two cities. The other four cities’ votes have been counted and we will reveal all the results when the official host city is revealed. So make sure to have your voice heard – who do YOU want to see host Eurovision? Let us know your thoughts by voting in the poll!

2 thoughts on “ESC’17: Final Three Cities Chosen”

Have your say!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s